How many s.'s are in desert?

It depends. If you are talking about a yummy treat eaten at the end of a meal, it has two s's. If you are talking about a very dry place like the Sahara, it has one s.

---

One S for Desert as in barren Land full of Sand. Two S for a sweet treat after a meal.