How do you clean a dirty penny?

Cleaning a valuable old coin will drastically reduce its value. If you have one, don't clean it. Professionals use distilled water with a little detergent in a vibrating container. Although people recommend lemon juice or vinegar, they should be avoided because they will interact with the copper.