Are olympic gold medals made out of real gold?

There hasn't been a "real" gold medal handed out at the Olympics for over a hundred years (the 1912 Stockholm Games were the last to primarily use the element). Beneath the shiny facade, Olympic champions and second place finishers are wearing the exact same thing — silver.