When did king charles the third become king?

King Charles the third became king on 8 September 2022 upon the death of his mother, Elizabeth II

---

King Charles III, the 62nd British monarch to serve over the past 1,200 years, ascended to the throne on September 8, 2022, following the death of his mother, Queen Elizabeth II.