How long does the sun live?

Stars like our Sun burn for about nine or 10 billion years. So our Sun is about halfway through its life. But don't worry. It still has about 5,000,000,000—five billion—years to go.

---

Over 10 billion years. The sun is a yellow dwarf star converting hydrogen gas into heavier elements through the process of nuclear fusion. It has been doing so for about 5 billion years and will continue for another 5 billion years. Then, it will swell, produce a planetary nebula, and die off.