What is i. r. intensity?

CCD and CMOS sensors are very sensitive to near-infrared (IR) light. One shot color cameras, such as DSLRs, must have an IR cut filter. Otherwise the infrared light leaks through the color filters and contaminates the images, producing washed out, poorly balanced and saturated images.