Why are they called the buffalo bills?

The Buffalo Bills namesake is William F. "Buffalo Bill" Cody, who ran and performed in his Buffalo Bill Wild West show for over 30 years, beginning in 1883. He was also a Union soldier in the Civil War and earned the Medal of Honor