How did sonic become evil sonic?

In Sonic the Hedgehog #39, a bounty hunter captures Sonic and delivers him to Robotnik, who dumps Sonic into his roboticizer and transforms the hedgehog into a mindless, evil robot known as Mecha-Sonic.