How many pounds does an average horse weigh?

An average horse weighs 900-2,000 pounds, depending on size and breed. A lean, racing fit Thoroughbred, for example, will typically weigh 900-1,100 pounds, while the average Clydesdale weighs in at 1,800-2,000 pounds.