Why is there a shortage of semiconductors?

The lockdowns disrupted factories. Manufacturers weren't keeping large stocks of raw materials, components and finished products in storage so any problem in the supply chain manifested as a shortage. Also, car companies canceled semiconductor orders mistakenly thinking car sales would plummet