Who are the skesis?

The skesis are the antagonists in the fictional universe of The Dark Crystal movie and television series. They rule Thra during the Age of Division and consider themselves Lords of the Crystal. They are "part reptile, part predatory bird, part dragon" according to concept artist Brian Froud.