Who is the first actor nominated for two academy awards in the same year?

Fay Bainter became the first performer nominated in the same year for both the Academy Award for Best Actress, for White Banners (1938), and the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress, for Jezebel (1938), winning for the latter.