What's the difference between sour cream and cottage cheese?

Sour cream is a cultured dairy product made through lactic acid fermentation that has a smooth consistency. Cottage cheese is milk that is curdled with rennet and fermentation. Then the curds are separated from the whey and cream/water are added back to the curds. It has a soft but chunky texture.