Why did king of queens end?

Early 2000s TV wouldn’t have been the same without The King of Queens. The network TV show centered around Doug and Carrie Heffernan, played by Kevin James and Leah Remini. Sadly, in 2007, the show was canceled. And it seems like disputes over James’ salary may have had something to do with it