Why is jack short for john?

John is a name with history stretching back far into Biblical times. However, during medieval times, the name John was altered slightly in the Germanic tongues to Jankin or Jackin. The Normans added -kin when they wanted to make a diminutive. Out of that, we get the nickname Jack.