Did they have planes in world war one?

Yes, Airplanes were used in world war 1. Mostly they were single engine Bi-planes- and there were a few notorious fighter aces from the war- although these early planes were not well armed in general

---

WW I became the cradle of air combat as the allies and Germany rapidly applied new technologies to their aircraft in order to gain any advantage they could over their enemies in the skies over Europe.