What's the average length of a dream?

According to the Sleep Foundation, the average person spends about 2 hours dreaming each night. REM sleep periods early in the night last about 10 minutes and gradually get longer until they are 1 hour long... However, not all dreams occur during REM sleep, and there are many other variables.