What is afternoon delight?

The term was originally coined in the 1976 hit song Afternoon Delight, by the Starlight Vocal Band. The song is often misinterpreted as being one about the innocence of being in love. It later became obvious that the song is actually about having sex during the afternoon hours of the day.