Why do you lose teeth?

At birth our heads start growing larger, so we need to replace teeth eventually. Baby teeth remain till about 6 yrs old. Then adult teeth push them out so our mouths can be full of well-fitting teeth. Try grinning, and think what it would look like with teeth much smaller.