Why are clown fish called clownfish?

Clownfish get their name from the bold color strokes on their body, like a clown's face paint. Finding Nemo, a movie about a clownfish, caused home-aquarium demand for them to triple. Clownfish can't survive without a host anemone, whose stinging tentacles protect them.