Can fish go blind?

It's unclear whether fish can go blind, but they are sensitive to light, and exposure to sudden bright light can cause stress to the fish. There are some types of fish that have evolved without eyesight; they are chiefly found in dark places such as the deep ocean and in underground water caverns.