Why do mosquitoes come out?

Mosquitoes come out for the same reason all animals do: they need food and shelter and somewhere to lay their eggs. Female mosquitoes feed on blood from larger animals, so they come out in search of that. Mosquitoes also need to be near water so they can lay their eggs.