What makes a book a new york times best seller?

To achieve bestseller status on the Times not only do you have to sell at least 5,000 – 10,000 copies in one week, but these sales have to be diverse sales. That is, you cannot sell 10,000 books to a pre-existing list of followers or thousands from only one marketplace like Barnes and Noble.