How did thanksgiving originate?

The event that Americans commonly call the "First Thanksgiving" was celebrated by the Pilgrims after their first harvest in the New World in October 1621. This feast lasted three days, and—as recounted by attendee Edward Winslow—it was attended by 90 Native Americans and 53 Pilgrims.