When was the gutenberg press invented?

In Germany, around 1440, goldsmith Johannes Gutenberg invented the printing press, which started the Printing Revolution.

---

Johannes Gutenberg is often credited as the inventor of the printing press in 1454. But neither printing nor movable type was actually invented by Johannes Gutenberg, nor did he print the first book. The Chinese actually printed from movable type in 1040, but later discarding the method