How does a baby get colic?

Some experts believe that colic is the result of an allergy to milk protein or lactose intolerance in formula-fed babies. More rarely, colic may be a reaction to specific foods in Mom's diet in breastfed babies. These allergies or sensitivity can cause tummy pain that may set off colicky behaviour.