What is an indirect quote?

An indirect quote is when the meaning of something that was said is used, even if the exact same words are not used or repeated. Example: "If you have to ask how much it costs, you can't afford it", when what J.P. Morgan actually said was "You have no right to own a yacht if you ask that question".