Why do you dogs sniff each others butts?

Because the odor is unique to every dog, two dogs can quickly determine if they've met before." Dogs sniff butts as a form of greeting and obtain vital information from the anal secretions. ... And because the odor is unique to every dog, two dogs can quickly determine if they've met before.