Why do people get bit by mosquitoes?

Female adult mosquitoes, which can live a few weeks in spring and summer, must eat protein and iron, if they are to develop eggs. Animal blood contains both, and is their preferred food source. Male mosquitoes live less than a week, do not bite animals, and eat nectar or not at all.