What is tissue made of?

Tissue paper and its cousins, toilet paper and kleenex, are composed of interlaced wood fibers that have been beaten from wood pulp into a slurry that is then poured over a fine mesh screen. The result is lifted from the screen, passed through steam-heated dryers, and collected in rolls.