When was the b. t. k. killer active?

An American serial killer known as BTK or the BTK Strangler was active between 1974 and 1991. He gave himself the name BTK for "Bind, Torture, Kill", killing 10 people in the Wichita, Kansas metro area, and taunting police and media with letters describing his crimes.