How is syrup made?

Depends on type of syrup, corn syrup is manufactured glucoses, maple syrup is derived from sugar maple sap and sugar.

---

Syrup is made from the sap from maple trees (commonly). The sap is very watery, so it needs to be reduced by boiling. The longer it boils out the water, the thicker the syrup will be.