How much states do we have?

There are 50 states and there is a movement to make Washington, D.C. the 51st state of the union.

---

There are 50 states in the USA. Puerto Rico is an unincorporated state while the District of Columbia is a federal district under the direct jurisdiction of the United States Congress containing only one city, Washington. There is a movement to make Washington, D.C. the 51st state of the union.