How much horsepower does a horse have?

14.9 horsepower It's a common misconception that one horsepower is equal to the peak power production of a horse, which is capable of a maximum of around 14.9 horsepower. By comparison, a human being is capable of approximately five horsepower at peak power production.

---

One horsepower is about equal to the strength of 1 and 1 half horses. So one horse would only have 2 thirds horsepower.