Can hermit crabs hear?

crabs don’t have ears, but if a sound is low- to mid- frequency and relatively close by, they can respond to it using their statocyst, a structure containing sensory hairs that can detect changes in orientation and balance, and detect changes in particle acceleration from the acoustic stimuli.