How can you soften up an avocado?

Put an avocado in a paper bag with a banana, an apple, or a kiwi and fold to seal. These fruits produce ethylene gas, a plant hormone that aids in ripening. The closed brown paper bag traps the gas inside to speed up the ripening process.