Why are they called bread and butter pickles?

The origin of the name is attributed to Omar and Cora Fanning, a pair of Illinois cucumber farmers who filed for the trademark in 1923. The Fannings survived rough years by making the pickles with their surplus of undersized cucumbers and bartering them for staples such as bread and butter