What are microphones made of?

Inside the microphone, the diaphragm (very small and usually made of very thin plastic) moves back and forth when the sound waves hit it. The coil, attached to the diaphragm, moves back and forth as well. The permanent magnet produces a magnetic field that cuts through the coil