What does rebuttal mean?

In law, rebuttal is a form of evidence that is presented to contradict or nullify other evidence that has been presented by an adverse party.

---

In argumentation, a rebuttal is an argument or proof that attempts to refute, or contradict, another person's stated position or argument.