When did stanley start marvel?

Marvel was born with the name 'Timely Publications' back in 1939 that generally came to be recognized as 'Atlas Comics' in the 1950s. Founded by Martin Goodman, the publisher of Pulp-magazine, the Marvel era began in 1961 with the release of “Fantastic Four”.