What type of animal is a raccoon?

A raccoon is a mammal that is nocturnal.

---

A raccoon is a mammal like you are. It is a warm blooded vertebrate animal with hair that gives birth to live young that it feeds with milk. Raccoons are the largest of their family, Procyonidae, which includes coatis, kinkajous, olingos, olinguitos, ringtails and cacomistles.