Why is pluto no longer planet?

Pluto is no longer a planet. The 2006 definition of planet defined Pluto not as planet, but as dwarf planet, because it have not cleared its neighbourhood. Pluto (unlike all other planets in our Solar system) does not orbit the Sun alone, but as part of a population of similarly sized objects.

---

Pluto does not meet the modern criteria for planet hood. To be considered a planet an orbiting body must be sufficiently massive to have become round under its own gravity and must have swept out, or cleared, its orbital path around the sun. Pluto is not round and hasn't cleared its orbit.