Why is pluto no longer planet?

Pluto does not meet the modern criteria for planet hood. To be considered a planet an orbiting body must be sufficiently massive to have become round under its own gravity and must have swept out, or cleared, its orbital path around the sun. Pluto is not round and hasn't cleared its orbit.