How do boomerangs come back to you?

Returning boomerangs have a special curved shape and two or more wings that will spin to create unbalanced aerodynamic forces. These forces — sometimes called “lift" — cause the boomerang's path to curve in an elliptical shape, so that it will return to the thrower when thrown correctly.