Are alpha lipoic acid?

Alpha-lipoic acid is an antioxidant that is made naturally in the body and also found in foods. It is used to break down carbohydrates and to make energy. Alpha-lipoic acid can be eaten in foods, such as red meat, carrots, beets, spinach, broccoli, and potatoes. It is also available in supplements.