Why is light white?

Light, the EM spectrum our eyes can detect, is made of many colors. When most colors are present, we see that as white. If red is stronger, we see shades of red, if blue, we see shades of blue. Outside, sunlight is white. Lamps come in many "shades" of white, depending on the mix of colors.