How do you tell if a goldfish is a boy or a girl?

First the goldfish need to be at least a year old so they are mature. Females have a rounder body shape and males are more elongated. Males may get white spots on the area around their gills and have a more slender junction of body to tail. They are the aggressors, chasing females around the tank.