How long does it take to cook dried?

The food will cook as it soaks up the water, so it can be used in recipes without additional cooking. Most foods can re-hydrate in 10-15 minutes this way, but the time will vary depending on how dry and how large the pieces of food are. Find out if food is completely re-hydrated by tasting a piece.