What do they make pennies out of?

The penny of today is made of zinc and copper.

---

The most recent version of the penny is the Lincoln cent. The Lincoln penny was made of 95% copper, 5% zinc from 1959 until 1985. Since 1985 it has been minted with 97.5% zinc, 2.5% copper. It's basically a zinc core with a "very" thin copper jacket.