Where were roller blades invented?

In 1980, Scott and Brennan Olsen, two Minnesota brothers, discovered an old in-line skate in a sporting goods store and thought the design would be perfect for off-season hockey training. They improved it on their own and soon were manufacturing the 1st Rollerblades in their parents’ basement.