What was the cause for the marshall project?

The Marshall Project, a journalistic enterprise with an expansive focus on criminal justice, was inspired by moral outrage, with the explicit purpose of promoting reform.

---

The Marshall Project is a nonprofit, online journalism organization devoted to criminal justice issues. Founded by Neil Barsky and Bill Keller. The name honors deceased Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall who as a lawyer successfully argued the Brown v. Board of Education case.